SC-30 wiring

robjl

I have just purchased a used SC-30 with a IFNMEASC. I'm new to NMEA so please excuse my lack of knowledge. The other nav gear on the boat is two NNVX2 ,with radar and DFF1, and a RD30
Can I create a N2K backbone in parallel on the SC30 connection in the IFNMEASC to feed a FI-504 multi, (I"m mostly interested in pitch and roll)?
Or can I add the SC30 to a WS-200 that currently is connected to a FI-501.

Can I create a N2K backbone in parallel on the SC30 connection in the IFNMEASC
No, you can not. The IF-NMEASC box basically turned the NMEA 2000 SC30 into a 0183/AD-10 SC30 device. The bus between the IF-NMEASC and the SC30 is proprietary at this point and can NOT be connected to NMEA 2000. If someone needs 2000, the way to do it would be to take one of the 0183 ports of the IF-NMEASC to a 0183 to 2000 converter (like the Furuno IF-NMEA2k2)

Thanks for the quick reply,
I was basing my ideas on the diagram I found online, file attached below.
Alternately, can I put a N2K plug on the SC-30 (leave the IFNMEASC out) and create a circuit/backbone & Ts for the FI501,FI504, WS-200 and a RD33?
If I can just add a plug how is it wired?
Or do I need a junction box like the FI-5002?
The existing SC-30 lead (without plug) has a 120 Ohm resistor in it.

Attachments

• Furuno_SC30_IF-NMEASC_diagram-thumb-465x354-202.jpg
    Furuno_SC30_IF-NMEASC_diagram-thumb-465x354-202.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 738
If that came from a FurunoUSA website; please provide the link because that is a very early document and WRONG. It should be taken down from wherever it is. You can not wire into that bus with NMEA 2000.

Can you direct me to a wiring diagram for a N2K plug on the SC-30.
The unit I have was wired direct to the interface so has no plug, it does however have a termination resistor in it which I find strange, does it need the built in (the wire) termination resistor if it is wired direct to the IFNMEASC?
I can't find wiring pins/colours for a N2K plug in the manual.