Furuno 587- Bottom Thickness in LF

T

TeamRezoned

Good Morning,

This is my first time posting, but I have obtained a lot of great information from this forum and would like to thank all of you who contribute on a regular basis.

We have a 33T Contender and Furuno 587 paired with a Airmar B164 thru-hull transducer. Over the last year, we have been spending some time deep dropping in the northern Gulf of Mexico. We have had some success finding fish in 600+ feet, but I think we could have more success by changing the settings on our machine.

We typically run our machine in LF, zoomed in to 30' or 15' range because in our area we are mostly fishing flat hard bottom edges or very small rocks. In order to consistently mark fish that deep, we have to almost max out the gain on our machine. With the machine zoomed in that much and the gain set that high, the bottom return takes up almost half of the screen and we cannot see any differences between hard and soft bottom.

I have two questions:
1. Is there any way to adjust the LF bottom thickness so that we can see the "legs" and bottom thickness change when we travel over different types of bottom? I am hoping that we can adjust it so it reads similar to the way the machine reads on HF in shallower water.

2. When we are looking for deep bottom (300'+ & LF) in rough seas, we are constantly losing contact with the bottom if we are heading in to the waves. This does not happen when we are in rough water and looking shallower, running on HF. Are there any adjustments that can be made to keep this from happening?

Thanks in advance for any input or advice!

-Dan

TeamRezoned,
Welcome to the forum.