Trying to connect MFD8 to Standard Horizon MATRIX AIS

SIZLAR123

Hello

I Have pretty low knowledge about Nmea 0183 and i tried many times understanding it without success :)

I would like to hook up my MFD8 to MATRIX AIS GX2100E (Combined VHF and AIS).

Reason being i want GPS signal (GPS hooked up directly to chartplotter) to the VHF/AIS and from the VHF/AIS i want the AIS and DSC to the chartplotter MFD8.

My question is therefor how would i connect these to units. (See Pictures)
Can i just hook them up somehow or do i need some unit between and so on?

//KR

Attachments

• MATRIX.png
    MATRIX.png
    136.7 KB · Views: 236
  • bild_2022-12-13_140912211.png
    bild_2022-12-13_140912211.png
    88.1 KB · Views: 236
I belive this is the right way, but as i said im not that good at nmea 0183 :)

Attachments

• Inkoppling MATRIX.png
    Inkoppling MATRIX.png
    92.9 KB · Views: 234
To do it correctly you would need some level converters. You will notice that there are not enough negative output wires from the radio. NMEA.ORG requires RS422 level NMEA 0183 which carries a differential signal on the negative. It is not a ground like PC level RS232. You need rs232 to rs422 converters between the radio and the plotter to do it right. While you can fool the system wiring it like you plan it can lead to intermittent data and sometimes damage to your NMEA ports. Many have done it the way you indicate. Since you wired AIS to data 3, you will want to go into the setup wizard and put a CheckMark for AIS on that port so the NN3D will know to process it.

Hi Johnny! Thank you so much for the answer, really thankful for your time and help!
If you have more time and nothing to do i have a second question.

So let say if i would do it the right way.
Do you think i could do it like this (See attachments and uploaded picture).

1st Link: https://www.elfa.se/Web/Downloads/9_/en ... _49_EN.pdf
Page 13-14, Unit I-7520A (RS232-RS422) This is the PDF Instruction.