MFD-12 Setup help

s4rs

Last year I bought a boat with a MFD-12. i am new to Furuno and marine electronics in general. My goal this year is to learn the MFD-12 and what it can do. Last year I got by just using the Chart Plotter to get in and out of the harbor.

Anyway attached to the Navnet are a radar, gps, depth sounder, fish finder, and temp sensor. The device list shows

NavNet3D MFD12
---[Com1] GP-320B
---[Com2] Port2-Sensor
---[Com3] Port3

DFF1

DRS_RADOME

The system was running version 2.05 of software. I decided to upgrade to 2.13.

The instructions have you disconnect the display ethernet, hold the cancel key, and power on to force a master reset. From reading the directions when you do this all your waypoints routes. Since I didn't have waypoints or routes I didn't back anything up.

I did make one mistake and not sure if it got me where I am now. The directions said once you see the install wizard language dialog power off the system. I didn't do that, I hit enter.

Anyway I updated the system plugged the ethernet cable back in, powered the system back up and the install wizard starts. I only have one MFD-12 and made that the Master DHCP server. Sensors get detected and away I go.

The issue I am having is when I look at the icons the Compass shows red, and the fish finder is now in standby. I have no idea how to fix this. I started to read the install guide but I just don't know enough to understand what I should select.

Any help would be appriciated.

Turns out Com2 is a Airmar H2183 Heading Sensor. I had to go into Com2 setup screen and select heading to get the compass working.

Question where in the documentation does it describe how to setup things like this? I looked at the H2183 install doc and it doesn't tell you how to assign the device to a chart plotter. I didn't see anything in the NN3D docs on defining a generic device.

Anyway other than heading is there anything else I should check for this sensor?

s4rs,