GP30 and LS-6000 Re-Installation with DSC VHF

Fishineer

I have a GP30 and LS-6000 I have been using for 20+ years. I previously removed them and the GPA017 antenna and T-Top to restore boat. I had to cut cable about midway adjacent to a previous cut and splice by a previous owner to remove the T-Top. It is now time for reinstallation. I disassembled the TNC connector; everything seemed logical until I could not get the center stranded conductor to release from the heated center pin.

I bench tested the GP30 and everything displayed and responded normally with my way points and routes except I had no satellite info. Before disassembling the TNC I tried temporarily splicing the cut ends and even held the center conductor of the cut cable inside the coupling on the GP30 and the outside braided conductor to the outside, but no satellite signal. Since the unit had not been powered for 3 years, after 5 minutes of no satellite info, I entered local lat/long in case it was having trouble locking into the satellites. It operated normally when I turned it off 3 years ago. Since I was at home with lots of trees around, the view of the satellite constellation was somewhat limited and may be the problem.

I also unscrewed the antenna dome cap, removed the o-ring which was in good condition, two pairs of mounting screws and everything looked visually clean and intact; I reassembled the dome.

I realize these are old units and could be replaced with a more intuitive chartplotter, but they are good units that I am familiar with and I thought I would continue using them if I can get them re-installed and operating. So maybe I can obtain some much appreciated advice.

My questions:
1. Can I install a new TNC connector on the end of the 15-20 feet of remaining cable and expect acceptable performance?
2. Which antennae are compatible with the GP30? Some antennae have DGPS and WAAS capabilities, but the GP30 does not.