FURUNO 1835 RADAR issue

A

Anonymous

I need help diagnosing an issue that has occurred with my Furuno 1825 radar.

I am an experienced RADAR operator having had a 4 Kw RAYTHEON RADAR with a 4 foot open array for the last 20 years on my 46 foot Full Displacement Diesel Trawler. I had installed that unit my self as well. it was a Good radar for that time it was built, but 20 years old is just not the latest technology, so an up grade was wanted to the great FURUNO radar all my friends talk about.

I wanted to upgrade to a new Furuno unit as every one always tells me they are the best, So I just purchased & installed a new FURUNO 1835- 4 Kw radar with the 24 inch DOME antenna & the 10.4 inch LCD color display .

I am an experienced Marine Electronics installation technician & am well versed in working with radio frequency & marine electrical equipment & marine electronics in the marine environment.
So I have now just finished the FRUNO 1835 RADAR installation. The RADAR installation was pretty straight forward & I had no issues or problems with the install at all. All the factory cabling & connections all mated up perfectly & was straight forward.
I utilized all the same radar mounting locations on my boats radar arch where the previous radar was mounted & utilized the same cable routing & power source as well. I even put the new 10.4 inch internal display all in same locations as before.
I have verified the correct voltages, grounds, no kinked or chafing cables, etc. are all available & adequate & have no voltage drop across any of the connections.
The RADAR antenna is about the usual 5 meters above the water line that many boats my size have & I inputted that height into the new radar when I did the initial set up. However, I have not been happy with its performance. l\Please let me explain the issue. So I need some help. :huh :questions