RD33 - Offsets output on 0183?

RD33 - Offsets output on 0183?

Postby lazerbrains » Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:46 am

Currently configuring a system and would like to use the RD33 output to send wind data to an autopilot via NMEA 0183. I need to know if I use an offset for wind direction if the corrected direction will be sent out of the NMEA port, or if it simply retransmits the raw data.

Thanks.
lazerbrains
Member
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:43 am


Re: RD33 - Offsets output on 0183?

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:06 pm

If I recall correctly it will send the raw data. You will need to do any needed offsets at the 0183 device.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: RD33 - Offsets output on 0183?

Postby lazerbrains » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:26 am

Is that a guess or do you know for sure?
lazerbrains
Member
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:43 am

Re: RD33 - Offsets output on 0183?

Postby Johnny Electron » Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:05 pm

I have never seen ANY Furuno unit put out corrected NMEA values. Any offsets are always entered at the display device receiving the data.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA


Return to Instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron