using old Raymarine cable for new furuno radar

using old Raymarine cable for new furuno radar

Postby edelweiss » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:58 pm

Can a new stand alone Furuno radar ( eg 1815 or 1835 ) dome and LCD monitor use a old Raymarine cable?

My old cable runs thru a cable chase in the mast and requires pulling the mast to replace. The cable was for a Raymarine 20XX radar that was displayed on a CRT screen.
edelweiss
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:50 pm


Re: using old Raymarine cable for new furuno radar

Postby C-Bass » Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:07 am

Good morning Edelweiss,

Thank you for your inquiry. It is really hard to say without looking at the cable itself to determine how many conductors it has. Most likely this cable is not compatible and will likely need be replaced with a new factory cable. I will say, even if the old Raymarine cable has the correct number of conductors it is highly likely the conductors will need to be re-terminated into the proper connectors for the new radar dome. You will likely also need to sort out a plug that is compatible with the display as well.

Kind Regards-
C-Bass
C-Bass
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:37 am


Return to Radar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests