Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Postby aquaholic242 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:51 am

My now setup is, Furuno NavNet VX2, DFF1, Airmar M260 In Hull.
Having some weird isssues. Had an through hull airmar 2kw with my setup, decided to remove the through-hull because of the drag it was creating on my boat. The system was working fine with the 2kw. But I decided to go with the M260 in-hull to save from that drag. Now the HF is not reading at all, and the LF read up to 200ft, and the quality of pic is not that good, any suggestions?
aquaholic242
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:45 am


Re: Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Postby Melville » Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:02 am

The DFF1 is a 600W/1kW sounder. Make sure the DFF1 is set to 1kW.
Shooting through the hull is less efficient then a wet face transducer. How think is the hull where you placed the M260? Hopefully this is not a cored hull. Also check to make sure the tank is full.
Melville
Furuno USA
User avatar
Melville
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Postby aquaholic242 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:03 am

Good day, Thank you for your response, when It comes to the dept of the hull, I had even tied a wire to the transducer and lower it a few feet below the boat to knock out the possibility of transducer location and fluid in the tank (if it's in the water, should have enough fluid) still no reading. it barely reads between 0-200 and anything more than that it doesn't read. Also like I said before on the LF settings it tries to see bottom even though I know it's wrong (when im in 15ft of water it says only 2.4ft of water.) when I turn the HF on it doesn't read at all. The M260 came with a Garmin tip, I took that tip and replaced it with the furuno tip that came off of my 2kw Airmar through hull, could there be something wrong with my wiring?
aquaholic242
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:45 am

Re: Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Postby Melville » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:47 am

It does seem like it might be wired incorrectly.
Can you post what you did and I will have one of our tech check on it.
Melville
Furuno USA
User avatar
Melville
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Postby aquaholic242 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:23 am

ok, went through the wiring over again, re-wired everything to be on the safe side, and now it seems to be reading dept right, went as high as 1200 ft yesterday (reading with no problem) yaaaaayyyyyyy, Thanks a lot. only question is, i don't seem to be getting a good reading of the bottom, what options to go in to change this? just seem to be a line showing where bottom is, but no digital picture of how the bottom looks and if there are any fish there, just a blank spot
aquaholic242
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:45 am

Re: Navnet vx2 with m260 and dff1

Postby Melville » Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:24 am

There is a setting called "bottom level" that you need to play with, up or down. (I don't remember which)
This is for the digital readout and won't affect the sounder portion.
Melville
Furuno USA
User avatar
Melville
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:33 pm


Return to NavNet vx2 & NavNet 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests