Page 1 of 1

AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 2:15 pm
by oguidry
My system is Navnet VX2 GP1920 RDP 149 with DATA1 – BB GPS, DATA2 – NMEA data out to a 1942 radar, DATA3 – NMEA from a PG1000 compass, NETWORK to Ethernet Switch ; a Navnet VX2 1720 RDP148 NETWORK port connected to Ethernet Switch; and a DFF1 Depth Module connected to an Ethernet Switch.

I would like to input NMEA2000 AIS information from an ICOM 506. I understand from prior posts that this can done using Cable 000-154-028 NMEA Cable, 1 x 7 Pin Connector to DATA 1 of the 1720 and an IF-NMEA2K2 Data Convertor to the NMEA2000 network. Do I understand that correctly?

DATA 4 on the 1920 is currently unused and is also a 7 Pin. Could the Cable 000-154-028 NMEA Cable be connected to this port to receive the AIS data?

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:29 pm
by Johnny Electron
I would like to input NMEA2000 AIS information from an ICOM 506. I understand from prior posts that this can done using Cable 000-154-028 NMEA Cable, 1 x 7 Pin Connector to DATA 1 of the 1720 and an IF-NMEA2K2 Data Convertor to the NMEA2000 network. Do I understand that correctly?


That is correct for a 7" NavNet Vx2; NOT a 10.4".

The 10.4" must use data port 2 to bring AIS in. It becomes an AIS input only port.
Data 2 on a 10.4" is a 6 pin. (000-154-054)

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:13 pm
by oguidry
Thank you for the always excellent and prompt advice.

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:34 am
by mbell20688
I have a similar system with two RDP 139 chart plotters, and would like to add an icom M506 for AIS data. I understand it must be wired to port 2. If I do that, which NMEA sentence prefixes need to be turned on? I don't see anything for AIVDM in the list of options, but I may need a software upgrade.

I would also like to share the data between the two chart plotters through the network. Is there a sentence prefix that also needs to be turned on in the network page that enables sharing AIS?

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:59 pm
by Johnny Electron
RDP139 is a an older NavNet one series which predated AIS.
It doesn't and will never support AIS.