AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby oguidry » Thu Jun 16, 2016 2:15 pm

My system is Navnet VX2 GP1920 RDP 149 with DATA1 – BB GPS, DATA2 – NMEA data out to a 1942 radar, DATA3 – NMEA from a PG1000 compass, NETWORK to Ethernet Switch ; a Navnet VX2 1720 RDP148 NETWORK port connected to Ethernet Switch; and a DFF1 Depth Module connected to an Ethernet Switch.

I would like to input NMEA2000 AIS information from an ICOM 506. I understand from prior posts that this can done using Cable 000-154-028 NMEA Cable, 1 x 7 Pin Connector to DATA 1 of the 1720 and an IF-NMEA2K2 Data Convertor to the NMEA2000 network. Do I understand that correctly?

DATA 4 on the 1920 is currently unused and is also a 7 Pin. Could the Cable 000-154-028 NMEA Cable be connected to this port to receive the AIS data?
oguidry
Member
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:16 am


Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Johnny Electron » Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:29 pm

I would like to input NMEA2000 AIS information from an ICOM 506. I understand from prior posts that this can done using Cable 000-154-028 NMEA Cable, 1 x 7 Pin Connector to DATA 1 of the 1720 and an IF-NMEA2K2 Data Convertor to the NMEA2000 network. Do I understand that correctly?


That is correct for a 7" NavNet Vx2; NOT a 10.4".

The 10.4" must use data port 2 to bring AIS in. It becomes an AIS input only port.
Data 2 on a 10.4" is a 6 pin. (000-154-054)
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3502
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby oguidry » Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:13 pm

Thank you for the always excellent and prompt advice.
oguidry
Member
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:16 am

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby mbell20688 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:34 am

I have a similar system with two RDP 139 chart plotters, and would like to add an icom M506 for AIS data. I understand it must be wired to port 2. If I do that, which NMEA sentence prefixes need to be turned on? I don't see anything for AIVDM in the list of options, but I may need a software upgrade.

I would also like to share the data between the two chart plotters through the network. Is there a sentence prefix that also needs to be turned on in the network page that enables sharing AIS?
mbell20688
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:22 am

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:59 pm

RDP139 is a an older NavNet one series which predated AIS.
It doesn't and will never support AIS.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3502
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Bayhouse » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:17 am

Johnny Electron wrote:
The 10.4" must use data port 2 to bring AIS in. It becomes an AIS input only port.
Data 2 on a 10.4" is a 6 pin. (000-154-054)


Ok, so reading the install manual for AIS, data port 2 only brings in AIS and the list of PGN's is fairly limited.

My plan is to use a IF-NMEA2K2 Nmea 0183 To Nmea 2000 Converter to send AIS data to the RDP-149 which will consume data port 2.

Do I need a 2nd IF-NMEA2K2 Nmea 0183 To Nmea 2000 Converter into another data port to get other network data (eg. Lat/Lon, COG, Heading, etc.)? My Furuno antenna died and I am trying to avoid snaking cable from the buggy top and use other devices on my network as sources (I already have 3 other GPS antenna sources).
Bayhouse
Member
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:00 am

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:23 pm

You will at least need GPS data to show the AIS on your chart plotter. (GPS and Heading to show it on your radar)

If your source of GPS is NMEA 2000; Yes you will a another converter. It is important that you don't allow heading data to go into the NavNet on the normal NMEA ports. If you do this will normally lead to issues. You might consider a converter that you can customize the output for this purpose. Heading goes into the dedicated heading port only.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3502
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Bayhouse » Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:35 am

Thank you Johnny.

Can you suggest a converter that could be customized, can you suggest an example of one?
Bayhouse
Member
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:00 am

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Johnny Electron » Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:53 pm

The Actisense allows you to turn on/off selected sentences by using their software.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3502
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: AIS Data from ICOM 506 into 1920 and 1720

Postby Bayhouse » Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:41 pm

Johnny, getting closer, thanks again! Let me see if I got this right:

DATA1 - I will bring GPS data in from N2K via an Actisense converter that will allow me to turn off PGN's for heading (is there a list of what should be disabled)? Is there a way to just disable select PGN input on the VX2?

DATA2 - I will use the IF-NMEA2K2 Nmea 0183 To Nmea 2000 Converter to bring in AIS data from my N2K network.

DATA3 - This is where I'm getting confused:

Could I just connect to my existing NMEA 0183 bus and bring heading data in direct?
Or
Do I need to use another IF-NMEA2K2 Nmea 0183 To Nmea 2000 Converter to bring in heading data from N2K?
Or
Do I need another Actisense converter to block non-Heading PGN's?
Or
Would it be better or easier to use an AT10 (or AT10HD) to bridge to Simnet?

Thanks!
Bayhouse
Member
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:00 am

Next

Return to NavNet vx2 & NavNet 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest