Adding Radar to MFD12

Adding Radar to MFD12

Postby 25GradySailfish » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:45 am

Hello All,

I have a MFD12 on my boat. Currently it functions as a plotter and sonar. There is a separate sonar module mounted in my console, I assume this is a DFF1 unit?

Anyways, I would like to add a DRS4D radar to the system, as the boats current radar is a raymarine and its no longer functioning properly.

Is adding the radar as simple as plugging the harness into the MFD12? Looks like all the radars are ethernet, are there two cables? One to supply power from the MFD to the DRS4d and an ethernet cable to run back to the MFD?

Would I need to add an ethernet hub to do this with the DFF1 already installed? I am currently unsure what the back of the MFD looks like as far as which ports are available and which aren't.
25GradySailfish
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:39 am


Re: Adding Radar to MFD12

Postby Johnny Electron » Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:09 pm

Is adding the radar as simple as plugging the harness into the MFD12? Looks like all the radars are ethernet, are there two cables? One to supply power from the MFD to the DRS4d and an ethernet cable to run back to the MFD?

Would I need to add an ethernet hub to do this with the DFF1 already installed? I am currently unsure what the back of the MFD looks like as far as which ports are available and which aren't.


The MFD12 has one network port. To run both a network radar and a network sounder, you will need a hub. If the MFD12 is the only MFD in the network, you can get by with an off the shelf hub if you want. The DRS4D can get its power directly from the MFD12 so no need for any radar power supply.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA


Return to NavNet 3D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron