nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby GUNNIN » Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:57 pm

Hi guys, my SH QUEST VHF needs lat long data (NMEA0183) inputed for DSC to work properly.

So I have to get it from my NN3D MFD12 data 2 18pin socket ( I don't have a cable), or can I splice into the cable coming from the GPS antenna?

Only need one way comms, that's all my SH QUEST can do.
Navnet 3D MFD12, DRS4D, DFF1, GPS320B, Hub 101, Airmar 41-231-1-02
GUNNIN
Member
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:20 pm


Re: nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby Johnny Electron » Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:50 pm

If you have the Furuno GP320B (BBWGPS) antenna, you can NOT splice into the cable. The two Furuno products handshake and the GPS switches to special mode and no longer talks normal NMEA for your radio. It sounds like you need to hunt down that cable. Every unit sold comes with one. If you can't find it, you dealer should be able to order you one.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby GUNNIN » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:38 pm

Thanks Johnny, the 18 pin cable it is.
Navnet 3D MFD12, DRS4D, DFF1, GPS320B, Hub 101, Airmar 41-231-1-02
GUNNIN
Member
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:20 pm

Re: nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby GUNNIN » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:42 pm

so im using port 2 pins 1 & 2, which is red & red/wh.
Navnet 3D MFD12, DRS4D, DFF1, GPS320B, Hub 101, Airmar 41-231-1-02
GUNNIN
Member
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:20 pm

Re: nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:56 am

Yes, you can use those wires. Red (+) and Red/White (-) Data port 2 NMEA output. You will also need to run the setup wizard and turn on the required sentences for the radio.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby GUNNIN » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:51 pm

Thanks Johnny, I ran the wizard and ticked all the boxes that my SH required, GLL, GGA, RMC, & GNS. However GNS was greyed out, could not tick it. also changed over to V2.0. Anyway it works without GNS, whatever that is.

Only problem I had was polarity of pins 1 & 2, in the Manual there is a picture of the 18 pin socket (or plug), doesn't say if image is plug or socket. so I guessed it was the socket, wrong, must be the plug as I had pins 1 & 2 arse about. all good now except my local marine base station says they are not receiving my DSC calls. It appears to be working my end, SH displaying lat/long and DSC call saying " NO RESPONSE". another bug to fix.
Navnet 3D MFD12, DRS4D, DFF1, GPS320B, Hub 101, Airmar 41-231-1-02
GUNNIN
Member
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:20 pm

Re: nmea 0183 for lat/long to DSC VHF

Postby Johnny Electron » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:21 am

Nice progress. If the radio has GPS then I would talk to SH, maybe they have a newer firmware update.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA


Return to NavNet 3D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest