Data Source selection with TZT2 15 MFD?

Data Source selection with TZT2 15 MFD?

Postby eheffa » Mon Jan 08, 2018 10:05 am

I have two questions:

1. I am intending to install my new Furuno TZTouch 2 15 MFD, NXT radar via Ethernet Hub and interfacing with a newly installed NMEA 2000 network. This should happen in a few weeks and I hope to have all the appropriate equipment at hand when I tear into the new job.

I am currently running a Vesper XB-8000 AIS acting as a bridge between my NMEA 2000 and 0183 networks. It is connected to an Airmar H2183 Fast Heading sensorvia NMEA 2000 and interfaces via 34800 BAUD to the older 0183 Brookhouse iMux. I also have an Airmar 150WX tied in via 0183 to the iMux. (I plan to connect the 150WX via a NMEA 2000 cable in the new setup.)

Both Airmar sensors are currently sending the appropriate data but the Raymarine E120 is seeing both heading sources and flipping back and forth between them. I cannot get the E120 to discriminate or prioritize the heading input source. This won't matter much in a few weeks when I switch the E120 out for the Furuno MFD but I do not want to be encountering the same issue with the Furuno MFD.

I see that Airmar sells a ~$300! USD USB-NMEA 2000 bridge that would allow me turn off the Airmar 150WX heading data but this seems to be ridiculously expensive solution for such a simple task.

I see in the manual that the TZT2 Furuno MFD should allow me to select which data source to use for input. Can anyone confirm that this should work properly and thereby eliminate the need for the Airmar NMEA bridge?

Specifically, will I be able to prioritize heading data from the H2183 over the 150WX in the setup?

2. I have my Power tap to the NMEA 2000 fused (both sides with their own inline 4A fuses) and attached to a fuse panel. Apart from a nonspecific "Instrument" Breaker on my breaker panel I do not have a specific switch to turn off the power to the NMEA 2000 network. Would it not be sensible to have the NMEA 2000 on a switch?

Thank you for any advice or comments.

-evan
eheffa
Member
Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:10 pm


Re: Data Source selection with TZT2 15 MFD?

Postby Johnny Electron » Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:35 pm

Evan,
I can assure you, the TZT2 will have no problem selecting your Airmar NMEA 2000 heading sensor to use as the primary source. We have a local boat using that exact compass. You do not need to turn off the heading in the weather sensor. The TZT2 will use the weather sensor as a secondary source of heading, if something happens to your primary source. When it comes to your NMEA 2000 bus power, it really is up to you. Many have it wired as you do. The problem with drawing the power with other items on the same circuit can be noise depending what those other items are.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Data Source selection with TZT2 15 MFD?

Postby eheffa » Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:13 pm

Thank you Johnny.

That's very reassuring regarding the filtering of data sources and this makes the most sense.

So far, I am not seeing any 'noise' on the NMEA 2000 circuit but it shares a common bus bar with the AIS, and a few other lower draw electronics. I will be on the lookout for that potential.

Cheers,

-evan
eheffa
Member
Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:10 pm


Return to NavNet TZtouch2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest