Updating dual TZTouch software

Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:20 pm

I have two TZtouch14's installed and am receiving notice on one unit that there is an update available. Both are running the same software level.

It's probbly staring me in the face but I could not find an answer to this question - is there an order to which I should update them? For instance, Master first then the slaved unit?

Thank you
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm


Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby Johnny Electron » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:40 am

You should update one, while the other is turned off. Then do the same to the second. It doesn't matter which you decide to do first.

If the unit is telling you there is newer software (Wi-Fi update) then your software is really old. The Wi-Fi update will not bring the machines up to the most current software because the last several versions also required an OS update that can not be done via Wi-Fi. You might consider just downloading the newest software from our website (under the product page) and getting completely up to date at once.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3283
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:39 am

Thanks Johnny. I was planning on a full SDcard update and will follow your guidance. Appreciate the quick response!

Tim
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:05 pm

Hoping for further guidance.

My current installed software rev is 4.0.1. The update notice I get when powering up says "4.2.1 is available for update (180MB)". I have version 5.01 on an SD card that I plug into the right slot when the unit is running per the software update instructions. Nothing happens. If I put the 5.01 card in the reader with the unit powered off and then turn on the power, the screen remains black and nothing happens (I waited for 15 minutes). I then pulled the card and the unit went through normal power up with version 4.0.1 still installed

Do I have to install 4.2.1 before it will recognize the 5.01 card?

Thanks
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:19 pm

A bit more info - SW update instructions state that a folder "FEC" will be created upon unzipping the 5.01 software package and that folder should be copied along with it's content to the root of the formatted SC card. However, when unzipped, the top level folder is named "OSandApp" which is what I put into the chart plotter and nothing happened. Rereading the instructions, I noticed this name difference so I changed the top level folder name to "FEC".

When I insert the card into the right slot a brief message appears on the plotter saying something to the effect "SCanning drives" but nothing happens after that.

ANy guidance will be greatly appreciated.
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby Johnny Electron » Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:07 pm

Looks like someone zipped the software wrong. If you open the folder (not rename it) you should find the files you need. If you get stuck, give the techs a call and they can talk you though it. I will check into the zip file that is posted.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3283
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:54 pm

Thanks Johnny. I see all the files listed in the instructions under the OSandApp folder, however, the chartplotter does not seem to recognize them as the files needed to update.

Should I be able to update directly from 4.0.1 to 5.01 without the intermediate updates installed?
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:45 am

BTW - how do I contact a tech? I see no telephone numbers on the support pages.
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:22 am

There is no problem updating from 4.01 to 5.01
It most likely has to do with the SD card being used. (Formatting/Size/Brand)

The numbers are located under "Get Support" then "Ask a question".

You can also reach our tech support at the following numbers:
Camas, WA - (360) 834-9300 - 8:00am - 5:00pm PST Monday-Friday
Denton, MD - (410) 479-4420 - 8:00am - 5:00pm EST Monday-Friday
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3283
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Updating dual TZTouch software

Postby topcorner18 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:02 pm

Thanks Johnny. I'll try another card and also give the techs a call.
topcorner18
Member
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:06 pm

Next

Return to NavNet TZtouch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest