Heading calibration does nothing?

Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby DJK » Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:09 am

Have a TZT14 getting a bad signal from a PG-700. Of course the right thing to do is to calibrate the compass directly but as a quick fix I tried setting +10 in Calibration - Heading in the Initial Setup section of the main menu. However this has no effect. Am I misunderstanding what the field is for?
DJK
Member
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:33 am


Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby Melville » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:35 am

Is the PG700 connected to our autopilot? If yes do the calibration from there.
Melville
Furuno USA
User avatar
Melville
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby DJK » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:00 am

Yes, however the autopilot (711 & 711c) shows the correct heading. I tried to check if that is a result of data offset entered into the autopilot but I can't find a way to bring up the Installation menu. Which is also required to do the calibration procedure.

Also while this is the proper solution I'm still wondering why the offset data in the plotter isn't applied.
DJK
Member
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:33 am

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby Johnny Electron » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:20 am

What is the version of software in the pilot control head and processor? What version is in the TZT? As Melville said, normally you setup the compass from the pilot Sea Trail area and any offset applied will offset the compass heading coming out of the compass. You have the autopilot setup for MAG and the TZT setup to show MAG?
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby DJK » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:13 pm

Processor 6454007-01.21
Controller 6454021-01.05
TZT14 1950123-04.21

You solved one issue with your Q about heading mode: plotter was on magnetic and the heading calibration does not apply to it. I updated to true and now offset is applied. Yay!

Now part 2: still can't figure out how to get to the Sea Trial menu. Supposed to be within the installation menu but appears to be no way to get to it other than during the first install.
DJK
Member
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:33 am

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby Johnny Electron » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:01 pm

Hold MENU and immediately (I mean immediately and quickly) push the knob three times to get into the pilot install mode. Then select "Seatrial".
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby DJK » Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:02 pm

Got it! Thanks Johnny.
Wish that was in the manual.

Now here's hoping calibration actually corrects the reading.
DJK
Member
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:33 am

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby Johnny Electron » Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:15 am

Your wish is granted. It is in the Installation manual, not the operator's manual.
Installation mode.JPG
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Heading calibration does nothing?

Postby DJK » Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:50 am

How'd I miss that? :oops:

Thx.
DJK
Member
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:33 am


Return to NavNet TZtouch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest