NAVpilot 520 with a simrad EVO 3

NAVpilot 520 with a simrad EVO 3

Postby Xfactor1315 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:17 pm

My VX2 chart plotter was going to cost $2000 to fix so I replaced it with a 12" Simrad EVO 3. The evo 3 and the auto pilot are connected nmea 1083 and while I can use the auto pilot in AUTO, my installer cant seem to get my auto pilot to navigate to a way point. He has tried a few different settings but says it must be an issue that my nav pilot is Version 2.0 and the EVO 3 is a newer software version. This seems unlikely to me and I feel its probably just a simple wiring issue or even a setting that needs to be changed.
Xfactor1315
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:33 pm


Re: NAVpilot 520 with a simrad EVO 3

Postby Johnny Electron » Wed Aug 23, 2017 1:25 pm

Considering your NavPilot 520 supports V1.5, V2 and V3 NMEA 0183; they might have to rethink the theory. You will find the info to show them on page SP-1 (Specifications) of the operator's manual. You might also show them the list of accepted sentences for each type of data on that same page. Sorry I have no experience with the EVO 3.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3367
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA


Return to Autopilots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest