Route details not using SOG

Route details not using SOG

Postby northcaptain » Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:06 am

I have noticed that the route TTA and ETA are not using the SOG but rather the speed on water. This lead to a conflicting result between the Navnet3D and Maxsea. I have tried to find any options that would determine if the route TTA can use SOG but find none. Can someone shed some lights on the way it is working ?

Including a picture of my screen showing that the planned speed is in fact the speed on water.

cheers
:capt
Attachments
MaxSea SOG.JPG

S/V Impermanence
MFD12-MFD8-DRS4D-GP33-RD33-FA50-FAX30-FCV620-PG700-FI50-NAVPILOT711-MaxSeaExplorer-HUB101-ICOM 502-602-802
northcaptain
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada


Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby aquabelle » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:55 am

Pending a Furuno person being on line to reply, can I ask why you think speed over water rather than SOG is being used? I too have MaxSea and run it on my laptop networked to my MFD12 & get the same screen as you show, & it has always looked to me as though planned SOG is updated with actual SOG leg by leg & divided into distance to give an updated TTG and therefore, ETA. Your screenshoot is not clear enough to read (can you attach it rather than embed it in the email?).

One discrepancy I HAVE noted between MaxSea and NN3D is that if you hover the cursor over the next waypoint on an active route, MaxSea gives you the TTG of the whole leg (even if you are 1/2-way along it) whereas NN3D gives you the actual TTG based on where you are along the leg.
aquabelle
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby northcaptain » Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:46 pm

Aquabelle thanks for the reply,

I prefer SOG because i navigate the St-Lawrence, Canada and there is always a current (sometimes 4 knots). Also there is the invariable drift when wind is blowing more than 20 knots over any mass of water. If i want to know when i'm going to arrive, better use the number that express the real progression toward the goal.

I think by clicking on the embedded file, it shows up clearly full size. Works for me.

cheers

S/V Impermanence
MFD12-MFD8-DRS4D-GP33-RD33-FA50-FAX30-FCV620-PG700-FI50-NAVPILOT711-MaxSeaExplorer-HUB101-ICOM 502-602-802
northcaptain
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby aquabelle » Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:47 am

northcaptain...i think you mis-understood me. I too would always use SOG...my question was WHY do you think MaxSea is using speed over water not SOG? Looks to me as though distance is being divided by SOG to give TTG?
rgds
aquabelle
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby northcaptain » Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:20 am

I found it was using the SOW because there is a constant discrepancy between Navnet3D TTA and Maxsea TTA. When i see that i did the reverse calculation and found Maxsea was using the SOW and then tried to find if there is a parameter to control this. I have not find one...

:capt

S/V Impermanence
MFD12-MFD8-DRS4D-GP33-RD33-FA50-FAX30-FCV620-PG700-FI50-NAVPILOT711-MaxSeaExplorer-HUB101-ICOM 502-602-802
northcaptain
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby northcaptain » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:57 pm

I think i have found a real "bug" :) Could someone from Furuno confirm this discrepancy and if it is a feature or a bug ?

:respect

S/V Impermanence
MFD12-MFD8-DRS4D-GP33-RD33-FA50-FAX30-FCV620-PG700-FI50-NAVPILOT711-MaxSeaExplorer-HUB101-ICOM 502-602-802
northcaptain
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby Johnny Electron » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:54 am

I don't think it is a bug. It might not be using the speed source you prefer. I have asked MaxSea to clarify what it uses for the calculation, but they haven’t answered me yet. In this case; it might be good to open a support case directly with them. http://www.maxsea.com/support
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:55 am

MaxSea has provided some helpful clarification.
Unfortunately, there is no way to choose the Data calculation method in MaxSea.
Please see the attached PDF for details.
TZ Route Data Computation.pdf
(460.39 KiB) Downloaded 108 times
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby northcaptain » Tue Jul 30, 2013 5:46 am

Hi Johnny

Thanks for the information. Indeed they claim using the SOG. They have wrote:

Note that the “Time To Go” in the route details uses the SOG (and not the VMC). This gives better “long term” information.

The TTA and ETA in the NavData are using the value from the Route Detail (the SOG that takes the current into account). This gives better “long term” information.


But this is not true. It is very easy for me to reproduce the problem that MaxSea is using the speed on water. this is why i say this is a bug.

should i open a support incident with Maxsea or do you have the setup to try it ?

Cheers

S/V Impermanence
MFD12-MFD8-DRS4D-GP33-RD33-FA50-FAX30-FCV620-PG700-FI50-NAVPILOT711-MaxSeaExplorer-HUB101-ICOM 502-602-802
northcaptain
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby Johnny Electron » Tue Jul 30, 2013 5:49 am

It would be best if you posted a support case directly with them. You have a better understanding of the issue in question. Please let us know the results.
Johnny Electron
User avatar
Johnny Electron
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:26 am
Location: USA

Next

Return to MaxSea Software (Please Contact Nobletec for Support)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest