Route details not using SOG

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby RobertC » Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:01 am

A similar screenshot showing STW & SOG etc on the NavData bar would be instructive, maybe?
The route data sheet is very helpful. Thanks.
RobertC
Furuno Fan
Furuno Fan
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:29 am


Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby northcaptain » Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:31 am

I have opened a support incident with Maxsea and will post the result here in a few days and pictures.

cheers

S/V Impermanence
MFD12-MFD8-DRS4D-GP33-RD33-FA50-FAX30-FCV620-PG700-FI50-NAVPILOT711-MaxSeaExplorer-HUB101-ICOM 502-602-802
northcaptain
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby RobertC » Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:40 am

I had a look at this over the weekend.
It looks like SOG is calculated from STW and the currents. I have currents, and Speed and SOG are different numbers, and not the same as GPS SOG. I am happy with that. It's navigation and routing software, not a satnav.

A different problem is that FI50 cannot calibrate a DST200, so MSTZ sees uncalibrated STW on the N2K bus. Not so happy with that.

Robert
RobertC
Furuno Fan
Furuno Fan
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Route details not using SOG

Postby Acer » Sat Aug 24, 2013 1:40 am

At least for me ist quite obvious that maxsea calculates TTA etc from Speed through water (STW) and not with Speed over ground (SOG).

From my Point of view thats the wrong way. I am sailing in high current Areas, STW? I couldnt care less, because in one direction STW is 6kts ans SOG is Zero and vice versa when I turn around......makes no sense working with stw
Acer
Furuno Super Fan
Furuno Super Fan
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:50 am

Previous

Return to MaxSea Software (Please Contact Nobletec for Support)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron